The ceremonial Jubilee Celebration on the occasion of the 90th birthday of Professor Witold Gutkowski was held on September 28, 2018 at the Auditorium of IPPT PAN.

The ceremony was honored by the presence of many distinguished representatives of the Polish researchers community. The guests were greeted by Professor Tadeusz Burczyński, Director of IPPT PAN. The Director presented the Jubilarian’s profile and achievements, paying him deep respect and esteem on behalf of the Committee on Mechanics of the Polish Academy of Sciences and the whole Institute community. Congratulatory speeches were also made by Prof. Antoni Rogalski, Dean of Division IV of Technical Sciences of the Polish Academy of Sciences, Prof. Krzysztof Malinowski, Chair of the Council of Directors of Academy Research Units, Prof. Anna Kucaba-Piętal from the Rzeszow University of Technology, Prof. Mieczysław Kuczma from the Poznan University, Prof. Wiesław Ostachowicz from the IMP PAN, Prof. Tomasz Kubiak from the Lodz University of Technology, Prof. Andrzej Seweryn from the Bialystok University of Technology and others.

All the invited guests had then the opportunity to listen to speeches given by former and current collaborators of Prof. Gutkowski, including Prof. Tomasz A. Kowalewski, IPPT PAN, Władysława Marcinkiewicz, President of the World Association of Home Army Soldiers (IV), Prof. Eugeniusz Świtoński, Silesian University of Technology, Dr Bartłomiej Błachowski, IPPT PAN.

At the end of the ceremony numerous representatives of institutions with which Prof. Gutkowski cooperated for many years congratulated him on his scientific accomplishments.

Prof. Witold Gutkowski was born in 1928 in Warsaw, graduating in Mechanical Engineering from Warsaw University of Technology in 1954. In 1960 he spent six months scholarship at Moscow University under supervision of A. A. Ilyushin. He took PhD from the Warsaw University of Technology in 1961 submitting the thesis on Static and Stability of Prismatic Lattice Shells. In 1950-1963 - Assistant at Warsaw University of Technology. In 1963 he joints Institute of Fundamental Technological Research, Polish Academy of Sciences, where in 1965 he took habilitation on Two Dimensional Lattice Structures. Full professor from 1976, until retirement in 1998. Chairman of the Department of Structural Mechanics of the Institute since 1983. He was invited as a Visiting Professor at the University of Delaware for academic year 1967/68 and at University of Wyoming in 1981/82. He lectured at several universities in Europe, USA and Japan.

Professor was elected a member of the Polish Academy of Sciences in 1991, a member of the European Academy of Sciences in 2002 and a member of American Association for the Advancement of Science in 2003. He was elected Chairman of the Committee of Mechanics of Polish Academy of Sciences in 1987, 1991 and 2007, and member of General Assembly of IUTAM. At the 20th International Congress of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics Professor have been invited to serve as the President of the 21st ICTAM in 2004 in Warsaw.

More: web page