On 12 October 2018, our Institute has been visited by Prof. Felix Unger, President of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts (EASC). The guest were greeted by Prof. Michał Kleiber – Vicepresident of EASC, Prof. Tadeusz Burczyński - Director of IPPT PAN and Prof. Janusz Szczepański - Deputy Director for Research.

On 3-5 October 2018, at the National Security Conference, Michał Kleiber, professor at IPPT PAN was awarded the Ring of the "100th Anniversary of the Independence of the Republic of Poland". Professor Kleiber was honoured with the award in recognition of his contribution to national security, public interest, economic development and the reinforcement of Poland’s image abroad.

The opening ceremony of the Academic Year 2018/2019 at Biocentrum Ochota took place on October 19, 2018 (Auditorium & Exhibition hall of the Nałęcz Institute of Biocybernetics and Biomedical Engineering PAN).

The President of Austria, Alexander Van der Bellen, decorated Professor Michał Kleiber with the Austrian Cross of Honour for Science and Art, 1st Class, for his outstanding scientific achievements and the promotion of scientific cooperation between Poland and Austria. The medal was officially presented by ambassador Werner Almhofer on 12 November 2018 during a reception at the Austrian residence.

The ceremonial Jubilee Celebration on the occasion of the 90th birthday of Professor Witold Gutkowski was held on September 28, 2018 at the Auditorium of IPPT PAN. The ceremony was honored by the presence of many distinguished representatives of the Polish researchers community.

In October 2018 IPPT PAN was awarded by the European Commission with the Erasmus Charter for Higher Education and joined the group of organisations eligible to participate in Erasmus+ programme.

On September 24-29, 2018, Science Festival took place at IPPT PAN. In the annual event we presented the series of lectures and laboratory presentations for audience of all ages.

Seven IPPT PAN doctoral students have started their doctoral studies as part of the POWER Och!Dok project (implemented under the 2014-2020 Knowledge Education Development Operational Programme), which gives a unique opportunity to combine five technical science disciplines: Biocybernetics, Biomedical engineering, Mechanics, Electronics, Informatics and Materials Engineering and also Life Sciences disciplines, i.e.: Medical Biology and Medicine.

Magdalena Gruziel and Maria Ekiel-Jezewska from IPPT PAN, in cooperation with Piotr Szymczak from University of Warsaw and scientists from Lausanne, demonstrated that knots tied on long microfibers settling in a fluid flatten and expand forming doughnut-like shapes. The results have been published in Physical Review Letters.