Institute of Fundamental Technological Research
Polish Academy of Sciences


Z. Yang

Recent publications
1.  Wang Y., Melikhov Y., Meydan T., Yang Z., Wu D., Wu B., He C., Liu X., Stress-dependent magnetic flux leakage: finite element modelling simulations versus experiments, JOURNAL OF NONDESTRUCTIVE EVALUATION, ISSN: 0195-9298, DOI: 10.1007/s10921-019-0643-0, Vol.39, pp.1-1-9, 2020

Assessing the effect of defect induced stresses on magnetic flux leakage (MFL) signals is a complicated task due to nonlinear magnetomechanical coupling. To facilitate the analysis, a multi-physics finite elemental simulation model is proposed based on magnetomechanical theory. The model works by quasi-statically computing the stress distribution in the specimen, which is then inherited to solve the nonlinear magnetic problem dynamically. The converged solution allows identification and extraction of the MFL signal induced by the defect along the sensor scanning line. Experiments are conducted on an AISI 1045 steel specimen, i.e. a dog-bone shaped rod with a cylindrical square-notch defect. The experiments confirm the validity of the proposed model that predicted a linear dependency of the peak-to-peak amplitude of the normalized MFL signal on applied stress. Besides identifying the effect of stress on the induced MFL signal, the proposed model is also suitable for solving the inverse problem of sizing the defects when stress is involved.

magnetic flux leakage, magnetomechanics, Jiles–Atherton model, non-destructive testing, finite element method, multiphysics numerical simulation

Wang Y. - Beijing Aeronautical Manufacturing Technology Research Institute (CN)
Melikhov Y. - other affiliation
Meydan T. - Cardiff University (GB)
Yang Z. - other affiliation
Wu D. - other affiliation
Wu B. - other affiliation
He C. - other affiliation
Liu X. - Imperial College London (GB)

Category A Plus


logo ippt            Pawińskiego 5B, 02-106 Warsaw
  +48 22 826 12 81 (central)
  +48 22 826 98 15

Find Us

© Institute of Fundamental Technological Research Polish Academy of Sciences 2024