Institute of Fundamental Technological Research
Polish Academy of Sciences


Runfang Zhou

Dalian University of Technology (CN)

Recent publications
1.  Hou J., Li Z., Zhang Q., Zhou R., Jankowski Ł., Optimal placement of virtual masses for structural damage identification, SENSORS, ISSN: 1424-8220, DOI: 10.3390/s19020340, Vol.19, No.2, pp.340-1-18, 2019

Adding virtual masses to a structure is an efficient way to generate a large number of natural frequencies for damage identification. The influence of a virtual mass can be expressed by Virtual Distortion Method (VDM) using the response measured by a sensor at the involved point. The proper placement of the virtual masses can improve the accuracy of damage identification, therefore the problem of their optimal placement is studied in this paper. Firstly, the damage sensitivity matrix of the structure with added virtual masses is built. The Volumetric Maximum Criterion of the sensitivity matrix is established to ensure the mutual independence of measurement points for the optimization of mass placement. Secondly, a method of sensitivity analysis and error analysis is proposed to determine the values of the virtual masses, and then an improved version of the Particle Swarm Optimization (PSO) algorithm is proposed for placement optimization of the virtual masses. Finally, the optimized placement is used to identify the damage of structures. The effectiveness of the proposed method is verified by a numerical simulation of a simply supported beam structure and a truss structure.

damage identification, sensor optimization, virtual distortion method (VDM), particle swarm optimization (PSO) algorithm, sensitivity

Hou J. - Dalian University of Technology (CN)
Li Z. - Dalian University of Technology (CN)
Zhang Q. - other affiliation
Zhou R. - Dalian University of Technology (CN)
Jankowski Ł. - IPPT PAN

Category A Plus


logo ippt            Pawińskiego 5B, 02-106 Warsaw
  +48 22 826 12 81 (central)
  +48 22 826 98 15

Find Us

© Institute of Fundamental Technological Research Polish Academy of Sciences 2024