Instytut Podstawowych Problemów Techniki
Polskiej Akademii Nauk


A.A. Ibarra Pino

University of Minnesota (US)

Ostatnie publikacje
1.  Colabella L., Ibarra Pino A.A., Ballarre J., Kowalczyk P., Cisilino A.P., Calculation of cancellous bone elastic properties with the polarization-based FFT iterative scheme, International Journal for Numerical Methods in Biomedical Engineering, ISSN: 2040-7939, DOI: 10.1002/cnm.2879, Vol.33, No.11, pp.e2879-1-16, 2017

The Fast Fourier Transform–based method, originally introduced by Moulinec and Suquet in 1994 has gained popularity for computing homogenized properties of composites. In this work, the method is used for the computational homogenization of the elastic properties of cancellous bone. To the authors' knowledge, this is the first study where the Fast Fourier Transform scheme is applied to bone mechanics. The performance of the method is analyzed for artificial and natural bone samples of 2 species: bovine femoral heads and implanted femurs of Hokkaido rats. Model geometries are constructed using data from X‐ray tomographies, and the bone tissue elastic properties are measured using microindentation and nanoindentation tests. Computed results are in excellent agreement with those available in the literature. The study shows the suitability of the method to accurately estimate the fully anisotropic elastic response of cancellous bone. Guidelines are provided for the construction of the models and the setting of the algorithm.

Słowa kluczowe:
accelerated FFT method, cancellous bone, homogenized elastic properties

Afiliacje autorów:
Colabella L. - CONICET-National University of Mar del Plata (AR)
Ibarra Pino A.A. - University of Minnesota (US)
Ballarre J. - University of Mar del Plata (AR)
Kowalczyk P. - IPPT PAN
Cisilino A.P. - CONICET-National University of Mar del Plata (AR)

Kategoria A Plus


logo ippt            ul. Pawińskiego 5B, 02-106 Warszawa
  +48 22 826 12 81 (centrala)
  +48 22 826 98 15

Znajdź nas

© Instytut Podstawowych Problemów Techniki Polskiej Akademii Nauk 2024