Instytut Podstawowych Problemów Techniki
Polskiej Akademii Nauk


C. Densham

STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory (GB)

Ostatnie publikacje
1.  Baussan E., Bielski J., Bobeth C., Bouquerel E., Caretta O., Cupial P., Davenne T., Densham C., Dracos M., Fitton M., Gaudiot G., Kozien M., Lacny L., Lepers B., Longhin A., Loveridge P., Osswald F., Poussot P., Rooney M., Skoczeń B., Szybinski B., Ustrzycka A., Vassilopoulos N., Wilcox D., Wroblewski A., Wurtz J., Zeter V., Zito M., Neutrino super beam based on a superconducting proton linac, PHYSICAL REVIEW SPECIAL TOPICS - ACCELERATORS AND BEAMS, ISSN: 1098-4402, DOI: 10.1103/PhysRevSTAB.17.031001, Vol.17, No.3, pp.031001-1-26, 2014

We present a new design study of the neutrino Super Beam based on the Superconducting Proton Linac at CERN. This beam is aimed at megaton mass physics, a large water Cherenkov detector, proposed for the Laboratoire Souterrain de Modane in France, with a baseline of 130 km. The aim of this proposed facility is to study CP violation in the neutrino sector. In the study reported here, we have developed the conceptual design of the neutrino beam, especially the target and the magnetic focusing device. Indeed, this beam presents several unprecedented challenges, related to the high primary proton beam power (4 MW), the high repetition rate (50 Hz), and the low kinetic energy of the protons (4.5 GeV). The design is completed by a study of all the main components of the system, starting from the transport system to guide the beam to the target up to the beam dump. This is the first complete study of a neutrino beam based on a pebble-bed target capable of standing the large heat deposition of MW class proton beams

Afiliacje autorów:
Baussan E. - Université de Strasbourg (FR)
Bielski J. - Cracow University of Technology (PL)
Bobeth C. - Université de Strasbourg (FR)
Bouquerel E. - Université de Strasbourg (FR)
Caretta O. - STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory (GB)
Cupial P. - AGH University of Science and Technology (PL)
Davenne T. - STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory (GB)
Densham C. - STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory (GB)
Dracos M. - Université de Strasbourg (FR)
Fitton M. - STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory (GB)
Gaudiot G. - Université de Strasbourg (FR)
Kozien M. - Cracow University of Technology (PL)
Lacny L. - Cracow University of Technology (PL)
Lepers B. - Université de Strasbourg (FR)
Longhin A. - Irfu, CEA-Saclay (FR)
Loveridge P. - STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory (GB)
Osswald F. - Université de Strasbourg (FR)
Poussot P. - Université de Strasbourg (FR)
Rooney M. - STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory (GB)
Skoczeń B. - Cracow University of Technology (PL)
Szybinski B. - inna afiliacja
Ustrzycka A. - inna afiliacja
Vassilopoulos N. - Université de Strasbourg (FR)
Wilcox D. - STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory (GB)
Wroblewski A. - inna afiliacja
Wurtz J. - Université de Strasbourg (FR)
Zeter V. - Université de Strasbourg (FR)
Zito M. - Irfu, CEA-Saclay (FR)

Kategoria A Plus


logo ippt            ul. Pawińskiego 5B, 02-106 Warszawa
  +48 22 826 12 81 (centrala)
  +48 22 826 98 15

Znajdź nas

© Instytut Podstawowych Problemów Techniki Polskiej Akademii Nauk 2024